Top Ten Books Everyone Must Read!

This is my second top ten list but I wouldn’t say that these books are any less enjoyable than those on the fist list. Again, it is soooo hard to choose!

10

ten by Fabio Hofnik is licensed under CC by 2.0

 

 

I read some reviews on Roll of Thunder that were not good at all…like someone actually said they hated this book…but, I loved it. I felt it spoke such high levels about where our nation has come from and why we need to focus on progress. Especially in such confusing times in our country where there are such strong divides and such hatred, this book can help children to see things from a better perspective why we need change. It is for that reason that I listed it first. I chose My Side of the Mountain and Spirit Bear because I love survival stuff! These books also really teach some very good lessons, too. I think there is a lot to be learned from these two children’s novels.

Image result for roll of thunder hear my cryImage result for my side of the mountainImage result for touching spirit bear

 

The rest of the books also had many great themes and plots and were just downright good reading. I am a sucker for the classics so I had to give Mr. Lewis a spot on the list and besides, who doesn’t love a good fantasy-adventure story?? We all love a good make-believe turned reality story so Little Bear also earned his place on the list. Jo and her sisters make for a really long read, but they are so heartwarming and endearing and there is so much to be learned not only from the themes of the book but the language as well that I couldn’t neglect to give it a spot on this list. And then there was the odd-ball…See You in the Cosmos may have been one of my all time favorites of this year. I have already written a review about it in one of my IMWAYR posts so if you haven’t read it, you may want to check it out but I highly recommend this book! Happy Reading!

  1. Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry
  2. My Side of the Mountain
  3. The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe
  4. Charlotte’s Web
  5. The Indian in the Cupboard
  6. Touching Spirit Bear
  7. Little Women
  8. Tuck Everlasting
  9. See You in the Cosmos
  10. The One and Only Ivan

 

 

 

 

 

 

  1. n

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Books Everyone Must Read!

Add yours

  1. It was really difficult for me to choose some of my favorite books as well. For me, I like a lot of picture books from when I was a kid. “Touching Spirit Bear” from your list was definitely my favorite book I read this semester. I think your list here has a lot of books that older students will enjoy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great post! I agree it was tough to pick books that I thought should be on a top ten list! They are all so great! I like how you split your lists into different blog post and described them further. You picked some great books! They are all classics and I agree everyone should read them!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I like so much that you read enough novels and other chapter books this semester to compile a favorites list over it. I feel I slacked in that aspect of my reading this semester because there were so many children’s books I haven’t read and wanted to test out that I really didn’t read many chapter books. Is your list in order of favorites? I know that you said See You in the Cosmos was probably your favorite, so I would guess it isn’t in any particular order?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is hard for me to say whether I would change the order of these books or not. I have read so many great books that I honestly can’t say which is my favorite. I do know that out of all of the books I read and out of all of my favorites, Because of Winn-Dixie, The Crossover, and See You in the Cosmos actually all made me cry. When a book draws that kind of emotion from you it is definitely a winner!

      Like

  4. I really enjoyed reading your post. Your list is great! You have read some really great books this semester. What book was your favorite? What class do you plan to teach? I hope you have a great rest of the semester.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Read A Little

Dream A Little

Digital Mutterings

Jalynn McClure

the dirigible plum

A Blog about Learning, Teaching, Writing, and Reading

Love Learning by Debra Kidd

Campaigning for better education...

@LeadingLearner

Fascinated by Leading and Learning

Stack of Marking

Where the world comes to learn about me and my fabulous teaching.

alondramunoz

Children's literature

Standing on the Edge

"Knowledge is an unending adventure at the edge of uncertainty."

Inputs on Children's Learning Interactions

"Educators are the only people who lose sleep over other people's children." -Nicholas Ferroni