WWW Wednesday: Week 3

Currently Reading: Today, after finishing a children’s novel I’d been reading for several days, I began reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I have not made much progress yet but am excited to get into this book!

 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

 

 

 

Finished Reading: This past week I did what seemed like a ton of reading! I started with Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling, which was probably one of my favorites. I don’t think I’ll ever tire of reading this series and I hope that the author will continue to write such creative books. Next, I read The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks. This is a book that captured my interest when I was a child. I had all but forgotten about it until I saw it on the list of books I am reading for my reading challenge and I can say that as an adult I found it to be just as entertaining as I did all those years ago. Last, I read The Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper. Although this book is much different from most others that I’ve read, I really enjoyed it. It is reminiscent of a fantasy novel, maybe even of The Hobbit, in that a young boy learns he has magical powers and must fight against evil. I hope to eventually find time to read the rest of this series.

 

 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

 

The Indian in the Cupboard by Lynne Reid Banks

 

 

The Dark Is Rising by Susan Cooper

 

 

 

Reading Next: Of course, I am anxious to read the next book in the Harry Potter series so, I will be reading Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban once I have finished The Chamber of Secrets. I plan to continue on through this series in order but I hope to read a few others in between just for variety. I think I will read Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White and Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan then if I find time, I will indulge in The Tale of Despereaux by Kate DiCamillo. For those who have asked before if I am reading the Top 100 Children’s Novels list in order, I am now just reading what I choose from the list rather than going through the list in numerical order.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: Week 3

Add yours

    1. They are really fun! My kids have been running around playing a game they call “The Chronicles of Potter”, which is a mix between Harry Potter and The Chronicles of Narnia. They love the books and movies so much that I figured I’d read them again myself and I am so glad I am! I highly recommend them!

      Like

  1. I like the progress you are making. I also like that you are willing to stray from your reading goal to read something that you really enjoy. Just because the rest of the Harry Potter series isn’t on the list doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t be able to enjoy yourself and read it. The underlying goal is to have us all read more, so it couldn’t be better!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I plan on trying to finish reading all 100 novels for this challenge but I have also added several books that I want to read that aren’t on the list. I feel like that makes it a bit more fun!

      Like

    1. I think these books are appropriate for 4th grade and up. The books are wonderful and imaginative! I have only seen the first and maybe the second movie, I believe so I can’t make a good comparison. I do prefer to read a book before watching the movie.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you have a great set up here with your reading challenge. I plan on starting these in my reading challenge but I want to focus on middle level books. Would you say this is a middle level book even though it is classified as “young adult”?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Most of the books I am reading are children’s novels and therefore are appropriate for around 4th grade and up although a few such as Sarah, Plain and Tall would be appropriate for 3rd grade.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Read A Little

Dream A Little

Digital Mutterings

Jalynn McClure

the dirigible plum

A Blog about Learning, Teaching, Writing, and Reading

Love Learning by Debra Kidd

Campaigning for better education...

@LeadingLearner

Fascinated by Leading and Learning

Stack of Marking

Where the world comes to learn about me and my fabulous teaching.

alondramunoz

Children's literature

Standing on the Edge

"Knowledge is an unending adventure at the edge of uncertainty."

Inputs on Children's Learning Interactions

"Educators are the only people who lose sleep over other people's children." -Nicholas Ferroni