Reading Reflection

I just logged onto my Goodreads account and recorded 6 more books for a grand total of 60 so far this semester. I know, that sounds like an awful lot of books for only being about one month into classes but I am hoping to triple that by December. There is a bag laying on my couch that holds about 7 books just checked out from the library this morning that are just waiting to be cracked open. I have always loved to read but this class has completely reignited my passion for reading and has already challenged me to read outside of my comfort zones.

 

 

2017-09-19
My Goodreads Account

 

 

Reading non-fiction has never been a thrill for me unless it was a really well-written bio or autobiography. Spending hours wrapped up in a blanket with a hot cup of coffee on the porch swing lost in a world of fiction fantasy and conflict is more up my “reading rural route”. In these past few weeks, however, I have found a new love for children’s non-fiction picture books. These have to be written in story form, though. My mind craves to relate to that of a child and revel in what is exciting and imaginative whether it is a true story or not.

 

Non-fiction picture books like this one have changed my ideas about reading non-fiction. 

 

 

Like most people, I love a great story. Adventure and suspense are literary devices that are sure to draw me in as a reader but I love rhythm and poetry as well. After reading Kwame Alexander’s The Crossover and Katherine Applegate’s The One and Only Ivan, I have discovered that verse is more appealing to the eye and to the mind.

 

 

 

I honestly can’t say that any of the books I have read these last 5 weeks have been “bad”. There were a few that didn’t pique my interest quite as much but I’m not sure it was the so much the genre or the subject matter that didn’t appeal but more the way they were written. Due to the fact that all of the books that fell short for me were award-winning books, I would rather not list them explicitly. I will say that those books were winners of the Coretta Scott King award and the Sibert award but again, my lack of satisfaction was not due to the subject matter but rather the way that some of the information was presented.

 

 

WIN_20170919_12_08_14_Pro
When you read that book that doesn’t quite hit home. 

 

 

The Pura Belpre award category and the Golden Sower award category were my favorite to choose and read from. Of course, many people enjoy the Newberry winners but the Golden Sower seemed like a great category to choose from since I will be teaching in the state of Nebraska and the winners are chosen by students in Nebraska. I think the Pura Belpre award winners are an excellent choice because there is much less emphasis placed on Latino and Latina authors than on African-American authors.

                                          

 

 

So far my favorite grade or age-level to read from has been anywhere from 4th grade (upper elementary) to Young Adult. These books, regardless of genre, just seem to be imaginative yet many of them focus on real-life situations. The stories are often rich and although there usually aren’t many illustrations to go along with them, they are typically not needed.

 

 

775089650_a604d8de8b_z
I Love to Read by Carlos Porto is licensed by CC by 2.0

 

 

I hope to expand my experience with different genres of books still this semester. Maybe I will try out a few graphic novels which haven’t ever been a big favorite of mine. All I know that if I am making time to read, I am spending that time enjoying it. The time never feels like it was wasted and I already have so many ideas of books to share with my future students!

 

57811442_94ee6a8517_z
Reading by Ben Ward is licensed by CC by 2.0

9 thoughts on “Reading Reflection

Add yours

  1. Right about now I’m thinking about finding a nice fuzzy blanket. The Fall is a great time to read! Get as much time in outside as you can now. Its about to get cold. I’m going to try to extend my reading genres too. I can’t wait to find my next favorite story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great idea! It is a cold nasty weekend here in North Platte but hopefully it warms up again for a bit so I can spend some time reading on the front porch swing. Good luck in your reading!

      Like

  2. I to keep a bag with all my library books that I have checked out and I take this bag with me everywhere as i never know when I will have a free moment to read. I absolutely love your picture of how you feel when you read a book you just don’t like. True expression and it is good to express that because we are not going to love every single book we read, and just because someone recommends that book does not mean it will meet our liking as everyone as a different genre to read. Keep up the good work on logging them books on your goodreads, and by the way what books do you absolutely not like?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. I looked through a lot of photos before I chose one that expressed how I feel when I read something I don’t particularly like or make a connection with. I have only read one book this semester that I really didn’t care for and it was called Hand in Hand. Although it did have a lot of good information regarding black men who had helped to change America, I felt like it promoted some very radical ideas in certain portions of the book. For me, it was more of a political disagreement which I don’t really want to get in to on my blog. I think for children, books should leave out political ideals and focus more on the information a child can gain from the text.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I liked the way this post was set up! Just wanted to put that out there first! In my post, I also said I prefer upper elementary books. I just think there is so much more to do in a literature stand point with students that are older vs younger students.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for the list! I am so enthralled with reading right now that I almost forget to put my book down and do my other homework. I think its that reading doesn’t really feel like homework for me and writing these blogs doesn’t either. I have read The Crossover and absolutely LOVED it!

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Read A Little

Dream A Little

Digital Mutterings

Jalynn McClure

the dirigible plum

A Blog about Learning, Teaching, Writing, and Reading

Love Learning by Debra Kidd

Campaigning for better education...

@LeadingLearner

Fascinated by Leading and Learning

Stack of Marking

Where the world comes to learn about me and my fabulous teaching.

alondramunoz

Children's literature

Standing on the Edge

"Knowledge is an unending adventure at the edge of uncertainty."

Inputs on Children's Learning Interactions

"Educators are the only people who lose sleep over other people's children." -Nicholas Ferroni