WWW Wednesday: Week 2

So far I am really enjoying participating in this meme. This past week I probably spent about 6-8 hours reading and I still finished 3 books by Wednesday evening! Since I finished those three books earlier than I had planned I decided to pick up a book to begin reading for next week’s memes. So, keep reading to find out past, present, and future!

 

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

 

 

Currently Reading: If you read last week’s WWW Wednesday post you are already aware that my reading challenge is to read the Top 100 Children’s Novels list in it’s entirety by the end of the semester. (So far so good, I think). The book I chose to read for next week is Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling which is the first book in the Harry Potter series. I hope to be done with book in three or four days so I can move on to the next book. I chose this book because the first four books in the series are on the Top 100 list and I have all four of them in my collection at home.

Finished Reading: I began with Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis last week and loved it. This book is set during the Great Depression and is takes the reader right to that time period with the language and the character’s conflicts. I would definitely recommend it to students and adults alike and I cannot wait to read the other book by Curtis on the Top 100 list, The Watsons Go to Birmingham. After finishing Bud, Not Buddy I couldn’t wait to dive into another book so I cracked open Henry Huggins by Beverly Cleary and read it in about 3 hours time (it may have been more like 2 hours, actually). This is one of those books that children just love to read. Books about the love between a boy and his dog never get old! Of course when I finished Henry Huggins I had to grab something else to read so I decided to go ahead and read Lewis Carroll’s classic, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland. I’m not sure I have to say much about this book because it is so popular among readers still today and the fact that I had finished it by the end of that same day should speak towards the quality of the literature.

 

Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis

 

Henry Huggins by Beverly Cleary

 

 

 

Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

 

 

Reading Next: Although I chose to read the Harry Potter series, I do still plan on reading The Indian in the  Cupboard and The Dark Rising. If I have extra time I also plan on working on the second book in the Harry Potter series because if I have idle time, why not read something, right??

 

Indian in the Cupboard by Lynn Reid Banks

 

The Dark is Rising by Susan Cooper

 

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling

 

 

 

15 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday: Week 2

Add yours

  1. Great book choices. I have had in mind the book Bud, not Buddy as I have seen several people say it is a great book. Now that I am done with Bridge to Terabithia, I will definitely have to look for this book and hope to enjoy and understand the language. Thanks for sharing with us.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, I went to the library and was about to check out Bud, not Buddy, but ended up with the book Number the Stars, by Lois Lowry. I really love this book. However, Bud, not Buddy is still in my list. Eventually I will read it!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. These are some great book choices here, and I am curious to pick up a few of them to read for myself. I know that in school one of my favorite books was the Indian in the cupboard. Great blog, and I am looking forward to reading about what you pick next!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. So the books for the top 100 is it a certain age range that it pertains to or pretty spread out? I would really like to read the Indian in a cupboard, man i forgot that was even a book, all I can remember is watching the movie in high school.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am pretty sure from what I’ve read so far on the list that these are mostly upper elementary books. There are some like Henry Huggins and Sarah, Plain and Tall that could be for 3rd grade but I highly doubt any of these would be appropriate for grades below 3rd. The Indian series is so good! I had forgotten about it, too, and now my daughter wants to read it since she saw me getting into it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am not sure about that but I am guessing if you google something like “Top 100 Picture Books” or “Top 100 Elementary Readers” you may find some results. I’d love to know if you do come across one, though!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I have never heard of any of these books before, except Harry Potter and Alice in Wonderland. I think this goal will be a very good challenge, although I will admit, you sure make all this reading sound easy! If you have any tips, please feel free to share. Are you just going down the list in order or are you jumping around depending on what looks good to you?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you…it really is not all that easy. The fact that I love to read really helps. I spend a majority of my down time reading. I take a book with me when I take my daughter to dance and gymnastics classes, when I go to the doctors office or any kind of appointment. I keep a book by my bed and one in my purse. I began by jumping around the list but I am trying to go in order now. However, once I’m done with The Dark Is Rising, I hope to read the rest of the Harry Potter series because I love them that much!

      Like

    1. Well, I am not sure if it was a good idea or not, haha! I am working my way through the list happily and quite easily, however, because they have all been really good books so far.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

