More On Prayer: Colossians 4:2-4

25813432580_130f7decd6_h
Photo cc by Long Thien

As I was spending time in the scripture and preparing myself to write this very post, it occurred to me that this is the third post I’ve devoted to prayer and I wondered if this was really something God was leading me to write more about. Of course, I have been studying the book of Colossians and there is a very heavy emphasis on the power of prayer in this particular book of the Bible but I considered whether my readers may get bored with this topic and quit reading all together. However, I am committed to expressing and discussing whatever I feel the message is and in the context in which it is delivered to me. In other words, I am trusting God to lead me through these posts as I am preparing to write them; I am just the messenger.

Chapter 4 begins by saying, “Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful. And pray for us, too, that God may open a door for our message, so that we may proclaim the mystery of Christ, for which I am in chains”. (This is verse 2-4, by the way). So, what’s with the repetitive talk about prayer? I found myself really questioning this myself as I was studying. Well, it seems to me that God is really keen on communicating with us and is telling us in a not so subtle way that He wants us to pray! He wants us to talk to Him and ask for the things we need and desire. Specifically, I think God is asking us to pray for those who don’t know Him or have a relationship with Him. He wants us to pray for opportunities to share His word with those who are non-believers because if we don’t they may never have a chance to get to know Him as their Father in Heaven.

Being watchful means to be on task. Basically, He wants us to pray as if our lives depended on it. We need to be always aware of those around us who are in need of His presence and therefore in need of prayer and ACT on that. We need to continue to pray instead of praying for something or someone once and then forgetting about it. Persistence, people! What about the thankful part, you may ask. Very simply, God wants us to thank Him for giving us eternal life, for allowing us to share His word with others, and for all of the blessings He has provided to us. Not only does being thankful help us to be in a more positive frame of mind at any given time but it serves to remind us of our faith in God. Think of all the wonderful things He has given us…life alone is a precious gift and we should have faith that He will continue to work wonders.

God wants to use us to bring others to Him. As Christians, we need to pray, pray, pray that He will use us and give us the right words with which to witness to those who are in need of His salvation and we must have FAITH that He will do so.

14779842171_fb2c5757e3_b
Photo cc by Internet Archive Book Image
Leave a Reply

