To Google Me or Not To Google Me

 

FreshPaint-0-2016.10.18-05.14.59.png
Photo cc by Amanda Curtis

Amanda Leigh Curtis, Amanda Curtis, Amanda L. Curtis, “Amanda Leigh Curtis”. I probably searched my name about ten different ways on Google. I looked through all of the images shown as well as the websites that resulted from these searches. Thankfully, my digital footprint has not been all too significant.

 

 

17993402859_0ba3be7511_z
Photo cc by Lee Marletto

 

After researching digital citizenship and it’s meaning I am reminded that everything we do online is like a tattoo…it is permanently recorded and can never be erased. I have only had a Facebook account for about 7 years and thankfully many of my mistakes were made before every little movement we made could be tracked online and I only created accounts on Twitter, Flickr, and Google + due to the requirements of the digital literacy class I am currently taking. The first item listed in the results of the search of my name was Facebook. I clicked on the link and proceeded to look through my profile. There are lots of photos there of my family, my children, and my friends along with lots of recipes that I’ve shared and a few political memes scattered throughout. For the most part I am satisfied with what is available for the public to see although I was sure I had my profile set to private which is something I intend on looking into further over the next few days. I am aware of some moments in time in which I may have over shared my thoughts or feelings or may have even used some foul language in my Facebook posts but as any other person, I am not perfect and the main thing is that I’ve learned my lesson. I no longer share thoughts about how my relationship is going or why I’m angry with my bff. I’ve learned throughout the years that social media is not intended to be a therapy session.

One thing I did find interesting when Googling my name was that there are many different women who share my name. There are other Amanda Leigh Curtis’s with LinkdIn accounts and Instagram accounts, where I do not have accounts on either of these. I was also able to find information about my actual self such as previous addresses and phone numbers as well as previously used names (I was married at one time) and known associates and relatives. The most surprising thing for me was that I didn’t have to pay to gain access to this information.

Overall, I am happy with the fact that I did not find much of a digital footprint for myself. I was unable to find any photos of myself when searching images of Amanda Leigh Curtis, in fact, most of the photos were of the actress Jamie Lee Curtis. I think I would like to use my accounts on Twitter and this blog in order to put more information about myself out there that will appeal to future employers or colleges.

 

 

 

13 thoughts on “To Google Me or Not To Google Me

Add yours

  1. It’s so crazy to think that everything we’ve done is out in the open! It’s great that your digital footprint is almost nonexistent, and I think you’re right to want to put a bit more out there in a good way. I noticed I had a lot of information from high school events that were in the paper, but not much to do with facebook or twitter. We’re, in a sense, lucky that we didn’t grow up during a time that the internet and social media were popular in our childhood, because I know I’d have some embarrassing photos floating around somewhere!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree that it was easier for us growing up before the digital age because people can find anything out online and use it as a tool to judge others before they ever even meet them.

      Like

  2. I agree with the fact that I am glad I do not have my childhood on facebook, who knows what I would have posted back then and if we would have been taught correctly and in time before I posted something that would stick with me forever.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the reference to a tattoo, I think that statement really puts things into perspective! I was relieved to find that my digital footprint was not very significant either, it makes me confident in my future employer’s findings. I also liked how you touched on not being perfect, but you have learned from your mistakes. I can connect with that and I think it is important to stress that when teaching digital citizenship, I think it would help students understand that we post things that maybe we shouldn’t have, but we now know better. It shows them that teachers still have to work on their behavior, even as adults. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I also found a number of people who shared my name! I didn’t try adding my middle name, but with a first and last I couldn’t find much that was specific to me. Instead, I skimmed through a lot of info on a doctor and Huffington post writer both named Jessica Hanks. However, once I added my state and hometown all sorts of pages came popping up. It was delightful to take a trip down memory lane, since many of the newspaper articles I found had been written during my high school career. Other than that, it was all Tom Hanks. There are worse people I could share a name with. 🙂 Kudos for staying under the radar!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post! The social media started getting popular when I was in high school, however the pictures I found about me was mostly from myspace. Which I don’t have or use that anymore, and I don’t think anyone does anymore. It’s just like you said and from the video that online things are like tattoos. It’s permanent. There’s a couple embarrassing pictures of the younger version of me but mostly are pins from my Pinterest!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

