Keeping Our Eye On the Prize: Colossians 3

 

14770848774_de99f222fe_z
Photo cc by page 412 of “The story of Jesus Christ; an interpretation” (1897)

After reading through Colossians 3 fully I came to the conclusion that this may be one of those chapters in the Bible that people really don’t want to read or learn from. This chapter tends to focus on how we are to behave as Christians. One thing that we must understand is that it is important for us to always “keep our eye on the prize”, so to speak. What do I mean by this? Well, as Christians we need to train ourselves to think about heavenly things rather than earthly things at all times. Now, this may seem like an impossible task and maybe it is impossible to do so 100% of the time but it is something we should strive for. When I refer to heavenly things as opposed to earthly things, this can cover all manner of things such as material belongings, attitudes, and even beliefs. Rather than thinking about how badly we want that new pair of Manolo Blahnik’s, we should be sure to pay our tithes or help others who are disadvantaged. Rather than feeling the need to get revenge because that is what society tells us we should do, we need to seek guidance from the Bible and from God through prayer. We must learn to deny impure temptations in our personal lives and seek after only what is pure and of God.

It is not through our works that we gain salvation but through Christ’s ultimate sacrifice yet if we read through God’s word we know that someday, we will all come before God, the Father and be asked to explain our behaviors. This, to me, sounds awfully intimidating but even knowing that I am not perfect and that I sin on a regular basis, I feel secure in my salvation because Christ has promised me this. We have to learn as Christians to do our best to put aside evil actions and immorality and learn to live a new life through Christ. This may mean learning not to yell at other driver’s on the road when we are in a hurry to get to work or practicing more patience when dealing with our spouses or children. Whatever it may be for you, remember before you act on some thought or react to someone else’s actions…someday, you will stand before God in judgement.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Keeping Our Eye On the Prize: Colossians 3

Add yours

  1. Wow! You did such a great job of explaining this chapter. I totally agree that a lot of us don’t like to get checked on what we are doing wrong yet I am excited that God does because even though we aren’t perfect I want to strive to be like him. I really loved how you explained judgment day, that truly is intimidating! I honestly don’t even know how I am going to explain what I have done on Earth however, I am grateful that Christ came and saved us. It is through his grace and mercy that I know I am saved. What a great post! Thank you so much for sharing!

    Like

  2. This is great! I think you have made a very valid point about us not liking being told how to behave. I know that even though I am conscious about my behavior, I still have times that I go against what I know is right. I too, am confident in my salvation, but I will have a long list that I will be held accountable for, and I think for some, this is a very scary thought. I think you did a great job at putting a topic like this into perspective for everyone to understand.

    Like

    1. Thank you. I just went through verse by verse and took the most literal meaning I could determine from each. It makes sense that we feel uncomfortable when confronting our own sin…it’s our human nature, unfortunately. However, I do feel that if we’re aware of it and attempt to make a change, He will be gracious.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

